Interreg Baltic Sea - 3rd Call

Interreg Baltic Sea - 3rd Call

Available Funding: 
€ 57.700.000

The third call for applications is held in a one-step application procedure that includes a compulsory consultation with the Managing Authority / Joint Secretariat (MA/JS) staff.

First the applicants are requested to submit a project idea form (PIF) by 15 January 2018 at the latest. Based on the PIF, the MA/JS schedules an individual consultation to provide feedback and recommendations for developing the application. Once the consultation has taken place, the applicant is granted access to the online application system BAMOS for submitting the application. Please be informed that completed project idea forms along with MA/JS feedback are also forwarded to the Monitoring Committee members. The deadline for submitting applications via the online system BAMOS is 9 April 2018.

The Programme promotes transnational cooperation and integration by projects addressing common key challenges and opportunities of the region. It exploits opportunities and addresses issues which cannot sufficiently be dealt with by single countries but require a joint response by partners from several countries from the Baltic Sea region.
The Programme is divided into three thematic priority axes addressing transnational key challenges and opportunities of the Baltic Sea region:

Priority 1. Capacity for Innovation

Priority 2. Efficient mangement of natural resources

Priority 3. Sustainable transport

Eligible Applicants: 

Public authorities at local, regional or national level, research and training organisations, NGOs, sectoral agencies and associations as well as private for-profit organisations from the Programme area are invited to apply. The Programme Manual specifies which legal entities can act as lead partners and project partners. Organisations not falling under these legal requirements may participate in the projects as associated organisations.
The Interreg Baltic Sea Region area covers eleven countries. It comprises eight EU Member States (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, parts of Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Sweden) and three partner countries (Belarus, Norway and parts of Russia).

Project Length: 

The project duration consists of three phases: a contracting phase, an implementation phase and a project closure phase. The contracting phase lasts three months and starts the day after the Monitoring Committee decision. The duration of the implementation phase may vary from 12 to 30 months. The closure phase lasts three months.

Further Financing Information: 

Project partners have to provide their own contribution to receive Programme co-financing. The level of these contributions depends on the Programme co-financing rate, which varies between countries and funds. Partners from Denmark, Finland, Germany and Sweden are entitled to receive 75% ERDF co-financing, while partners from Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland are entitled to 85% ERDF co-financing. Norwegian partners will receive 50% co-financing from Norwegian national funding. Russian partners will receive 85% Programme co-financing, combining the EU funding from the European Neighbourhood Instrument and the financial contribution of the Russian Federation5.