Interreg Atlantic Area 2nd call for proposals

Interreg Atlantic Area 2nd call for proposals

Available Funding: 
€ 185M (total programme); €43 2nd call

The Interreg Atlantic Area Programme is financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) under the European Territorial Cooperation objective of the European Union Cohesion Policy for the programming period 2014-2020. The Programme supports cooperation addressing shared regional challenges and innovative approaches to strengthen territorial and sustainable economic development in the Atlantic Area. The Programme targets partnership projects which will provide joint solutions to shared transnational challenges faced by eligible regions along the Atlantic coast in France, Ireland, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom. In order to deliver these aims, the programme has identified a series of four thematic priorities with associated specific objectives which are outlined below. All priority axes in the cooperation Programme are open for this current call. Under the terms of this call, a project proposal must focus on only one priority axis and one specific objective. Applicants are strongly encouraged to check the already approved projects in the respective thematic areas to avoid duplication and make use of synergies. Detailed information regarding the application and selection process can me found in the Programme Manuel and Terms of Reference for the call.

Priorities and budget availability for call 2

Eligible Applicants: 

The cooperation area covered by the Programme includes the European Atlantic regions listed below. Project partners must be located within the eligible territory of the Atlantic Area regions. In duly justified cases, if the benefit for regions in the cooperation area is clearly demonstrated, organisations based outside the cooperation area in the EU or in EFTA states may join project partnerships of the Programme.

Regions from eligible countries:

France: Territories of the former Regions: Haute-Normandie; Basse-Normandie; Pays-de-la-Loire; Bretagne; Poitou-Charentes; Aquitaine

Ireland: Border, Midland and Western; Southern and Eastern.

Portugal: Norte; Algarve; Centro; Lisboa; Alentejo; Açores; Madeira.

Spain: Galicia; Principado de Asturias; Cantabria; Navarra; País Vasco; Andalucía (Huelva, Cádiz and Sevilla); Islas Canarias.

United Kingdom: Cumbria; Cheshire; Greater Manchester; Lancashire; Merseyside; Gloucestershire, Wiltshire and Bristol/Bath Area; Dorset and Somerset; Cornwall and Isles of Scilly; Devon; West Wales and the Valleys; East Wales; South Western Scotland; Highlands and Islands; Northern Ireland.

Project Length: 

The call has indicated that applicants should submit projects should normally propose a work timeline with a duration of 18 to 36 months, with a start in the first half of 2019 and taking into account that the latest possible end date for a project is 31 December 2022.

Further Financing Information: 

The Programme runs from 2015 to 2020 and invests EUR 140 M ERDF to co-finance transnational cooperation projects promoted by organisations from the Atlantic Area. Projects will be expected to deliver against the outputs specified in the reference document “Atlantic Area Cooperation Programme”. The maximum grant rate for all projects and partners is 75%. Within a project, different grant rate are allowed among project partners on condition that the maximum grant rate of 75% established at project level is not exceeded. The difference between the total project budget and the Interreg grant is called matchfunding and must be provided by each individual project partner, as self-financing or as external financing by an associated partner.

For more Information: 

More details about the Interreg Atlantic Area Programme are available at:

Documents and facilities available on the Programme website:

  • Atlantic Area Cooperation Programme;
  • Programme Manual;
  • Application form;
  • Projects idea tool.

It is also possible to contact representatives of the National Contact Points/Correspondents located in each Atlantic Area Member State or the Joint Secretariat ( based in Porto. Contact information is available on the Programme website.