MSP Law adopted in Cyprus

« Back to News
10 November, 2017

In Cyprus, the national MSP Bill (Law 114(I) of 2017) was approved on 29 September. The Bill clearly defines the responsibilities and the role of the various institutions in MSP:

  • Maritime Spatial Planning Committee (15 members:  ministries/ departments / services of the government) (responsible for the preparation of the draft Maritime Spatial Plan);
  • Inter-ministerial Committee (6 Ministers) (responsible for the per-approval of the Plan);
  • The Council of Ministers ((final approval of the Plan);
  • The Minister of Transport, Communications and Works (as the central coordinating Competent Authority) is responsible for coordinating the necessary actions for MSP.

More information about Cyprus MSP